Making Mealtime Meaningful: Discover how we're giving back with the 12T Cares program →

Major companies are getting better at catering to diverse needs. We are not only seeing more vegan and vegetarian food options, but we’re also seeing more options for those with certain medical needs such as sugar-free items for diabetics or gluten-free choices for those with celiac disease. There is also more of a market for religious dietary requirements.

Just look at the Coca-Cola bottles that have yellow tops. These are actually new, limited-edition versions of Coke that are within compliance with Jewish requirements for Passover. According to The Kitchn, leading up to Passover, Jews must refrain from consuming foods that are considered to be leavened, meaning foods with barley, rye, oats, wheat, or spelt should not be eaten.

Photo: flickr/Edsel Little

For those Jews who are of Ashkenazi heritage, there are additional restrictions of being unable to eat foods with legumes and other grains, such as corn. Because corn is not allowed, Coke would be considered a leavened food as it contains high fructose corn syrup.

Because of this, a Passover-friendly version of the popular soda, Coke, can still be enjoyed during Passover. While it may be a limited release, it has actually been around since 1935, thanks to Rabbi Tuvia Geffen who worked with Coca-Cola in order to come up with a Coke version that would be acceptable for Jews to drink throughout Passover.

Photo: flickr/Mike Mozart

The key difference is that this Passover-friendly Coke is basically Coca-Cola’s original recipe and is made with cane sugar instead of high-fructose corn syrup. This version of the drink has been certified by the Orthodox Union, and its yellow caps come labeled with “O-U-P.”

Photo: flickr/Mark H. Anbinder

What do you think? Have you ever drank this version of Coke? Let us know!